Fall Flavored Risotto


Welcome the arrival of fall with this delicious risotto! 

Fall Flavored Risotto
Write a review
  1. 1 small-ish Butternut Squash (enough for about 2 cups)
  2. 2 shallots, finely chopped (or 1 small yellow onion, finely chopped)
  3. 1 cup Organic Arborio rice
  4. 1/2 cup white wine
  5. 6 cups hot vegetable or chicken broth
  6. 3 TBSP Coconut Oil or Olive Oil
  7. Sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste
  8. Parmesan cheese (if your diet allows) Or a sprinkle of Daiya non-dairy cheese
  1. 1) Cut squash in half and scoop out seeds. Place squash, cut side up, in a 9×13 pan. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil and season with salt & pepper. Add enough water to the pan to come about 1/4″ up the sides. Cover with foil and bake in a 375-degree oven for about 45 minutes or until soft.
  2. 2) Scoop out the soft flesh into a bowl and discard the skin. Mash with a fork.
  3. 3) Melt butter in a large skillet with high sides (or saucepan). Add onion and cook for 3 minutes.
  4. 4) Stir in the rice and continue cooking and stirring for another 4 minutes.
  5. 5) Add the wine to the pan, stirring constantly, until most of the liquid has evaporated. Stir in the mashed squash and 2 cups of the broth. Reduce heat slightly and cook and stir the rice mixture until the broth has been absorbed by the rice, about 7 minutes.
  6. 6) Add 2 more cups of the broth and continue to stir until absorbed.
  7. 7) Add the remaining broth and continue stirring until the risotto is tender and creamy.
  8. 8) Add salt & pepper to taste and mix in freshly grated parmesan, if you can. If you can't, a sprinkle of non-dairy Daiya cheese works well too!
  9. 9) Enjoy!
The Healthy GF Life http://thehealthygflife.com/


  1. These all look so yummy can’t wait to try them!

  2. you can also add smoked paprika or sprinkle on top , a little lemon zest, and finely chopped onion or chives.

  3. Jerrit Deephouse says:

    This recipe looks yummy, but how would I know if the wine I want to use is gluten free? I have been told that the way the wine barrels are processed can cause cross contamination.

    • Thanks! There’s a little article on whether wine is gluten free on: http://rachelbegun.com/ask-the-gluten-free-rd-is-there-gluten-in-wine. The short answer is it should be fine, but as you know, for those with severe issues, “should” isn’t good enough. There are, however, lots of wines on the market now that put “gluten free” on the label (Trader Joe’s has some) so when in doubt, leave it out, or opt for those wines that take the time to note that they are in fact gluten free.

Speak Your Mind